Archery, Academic Teams, More Recognized at School Board Meeting

Robert B Turner Academic TeamEmma B Ward Academic TeamRobert B Turner Archery TeamAnderson County Middle School Archery TeamSuperintendent Sheila Mitchell and Sofia LunaGovernor's Scholar RecipientsBearcat Day PresentationsBearcat Day Presentations

On Monday evening, Superintendent Sheila Mitchell and the Anderson County School Board recognized many students, including those from academic and archery teams as well as the Anderson County High School Governor’s Scholars recipients and more.

Both Robert B Turner and Emma B Ward Elementary academic teams were recognized for their many accomplishments in competition.  Turner’s team were the district champions, placed fourth in the regional competition, and won the Sportsmanship Award.  Individually, the team members won numerous placements at both the district and regional levels:

Composition: 1st place- Emma Harris, 3rd place- Lakrissa Milton, 4th place- Olivia Alteri
Math: 1st place- Willow Bell
Science: 1st place- Drew Zopff
Social Studies: 2nd place- Tyler Meacham
Arts & Humanities: 1st place- Millie Johnson
Language Arts: 2nd place- Willow Bell, 4th place- Drew Zopff
Quick Recall: 2nd place

Composition: 3rd place- Emma Harris
Science: 5th place- Drew Zopff
Arts & Humanities: 3rd place- Millie Johnson
Language Arts: 1st place- Willow Bell

All team members were recognized: Larkissa Milton, Olivia Alteri, Will Rhody, Millie Johnson, Willow Bell, Drew Zopff, Emma Harris, Tyler Meacham, Nolan Connors, Kaitlyn Lilly, Parker Cornish, Brady Connors.

Emma B Ward’s team also received numerous placements and were first place for future problem solving as a team for the district competition and placed third for region.

Joey Futrell – 2nd place science, 3rd place social studies
Clay Knight – 3rd place math
Ryan Bass – 5th place social studies
Claire Cooper – 5th place composition
Marley Spencer – 3rd place arts and humanities, 5th place language arts
Madison Wash – 5th place arts and humanities

Joey Futrell – 3rd place science

Robert B Turner and Anderson County Middle School Archery Teams were congratulated for their outstanding performances.  Turner’s team won the Spring Fling Tournament and posted the highest score in the nation for the 2016-17 season.  They received a score of 3216, of which only one other team got above 3200.

Turner’s team includes the following members: Damon Nichols, Joshua Mayes, EmmaLi Dorman, Brennan Clark, Ty Barnett, Brandon Travillian, Kalina Peffer, Jenna Diaz, Drew Zopff, Denver Puckett, Lakrissa Milton, Rylie Moore, Jacob Searcy, Zachary Kelly, Garrett Stratton, Sarah Sea, Mary Stevens, Blaine Metcalfe, Jonus Metcalfe, Caleb Hill, Dawson Case, Conner Glass, Andi Stratton, Kaitlyn Lilley, Jacob Wallace, Breanna Woodside, Konnor Shumate, William Sparrow, Kristian Peavler. Team Captains and scoring leaders are Bradley Collins and Madalynn Puryear.

ACMS Archery Team also performed very well placing second in the 3D IBO division.  In 11 out of 12 tournaments, they placed first, second, or third.

As an individual, Henry Thompson swept the competition placing first in middle school bulls-eye shoot, first in middle school 3D IBO shoot, and first in all around 3D IBO shoot. He came away with two medals, a plaque, a turkey target, bear target, bullseye target, and a $500 scholarship check.

Also recognized were a number of Anderson County High School students. Sofia Luna won first place in Life Event Planning at the state meeting and will be competing at the national competition in July in Nashville, Tennessee.  Anna Boyles, Lydia Fuqua, Emma Ryan, and James Land were named the 2017 Governor’s Scholars.

Sparrow Early Childhood Center students, Lincoln Baxter, Ellie Shouse and Nolan Gambrel, also got to present their Bearcat Day projects.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on TumblrPin on PinterestEmail this to someone
Posted in School & Education.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.