Students Honored at Conservation Awards Banquet

Judge Executive Gritton and Donna Crain DruryJudge Executive Gritton and Mayor GoodlettChris Dillon and Roy Toney

Bringing a bit of the Wild Side of Kentucky, the Anderson County Conservation District held their annual awards banquet on Tuesday night to not only celebrate student winners but also to promote environmental conservation.  According to the district’s chairman, Roy Toney, the conservation writing and Jim Claypool art contest is a statewide competition that encourages students of all grades and schools to think about and produce either an essay or piece of art on a chosen conservation topic.

Students from 1st through 5th grades create a drawing while students from 6th-12th grades write an essay which are then submitted to the district board to be judged.  They select the top three entries from each school in which they then get to move on to the area competitions before going to the statewide level.

This competition, according to Roy, is one of the oldest and continuous running contests in the state.  The awards banquet has also become a tradition here in Anderson County, starting about 20 years ago as way to teach children about the importance of natural resources.  It also serves as a way to recognize teachers and sponsors of the program.

For this year’s banquet, Joe Settles from East Kentucky Power gave a great presentation of much of the work that the company does to protect endangered species before installing power lines.  He also showcased many of the amazing animals of Kentucky.

Town & Country Bank, Ace Hardware, and Gatsby Gallery along with many others were this year’s sponsors.  Below is a list of all the winners and more who were recognized.  Congratulations to everyone!

Jim Claypool Poster Winners

District Winners
3rd Place – Elisa Lilley
2nd Place – Julia Fuqua
1st Place – Laine Alsabrook

Emma B Ward
Jadyn Bentley

Christian Academy of Lawrenceburg
Olivia Hellard

Robert B Turner
LaKrissa Milton

Saffell Street Elementary
Sarah Anderson

Essay Contest Winners

District Winners
3rd Place – Graci Boggs
2nd Place – Colin Charles
1st Place – Katrin Wilson

Anderson Middle School
Jenna Nydam

Christian Academy of Lawrenceburg
Colin Charles

Home School
Katrin Wilson

Teachers with 100% Participation

Christian Academy of Lawrenceburg
Kristy Blacketer
Melissa Burton
Kristen Hamrick
Jana Terrell

Robert B Turner
Gina Morgan
Lori Wells
Katie Hutton
Julie Case

Anderson Middle School
Shannon Knight

Saffell Street Elementary
Erin Woods
Sandra Blackburn
Jared Scott
Amanda Gritton

Emma B Ward
Stachia Serafini

Friend of Conservation – Ace Hardware
Chris Dillon

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on TumblrPin on PinterestEmail this to someone
Posted in Business & Government, Family & Community, School & Education.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.