Students and More Recognized at School Board Meeting

Student RecognitionsStudent RecognitionsStudent RecognitionsAustin GabhartRobin BashamEmma B Ward Teacher Leaders and PrincipalSuperintendant Sheila MitchellBoard Chairman Lee HahnJudge Executive Orbrey GrittonJudge Executive Orbrey Gritton

Besides the naming of the Anderson County High School football field, the Anderson County School Board meeting was also full of recognitions and presentations.  Select students from the middle school were recognized for their outstanding performance on the Spring 2015 KPREP assessment (full list of names below).  The students present at the meeting also received a special certificate.

Then, Austin Gabhart, an Eagle Scout, presented, to the board and the visitors present, a project idea for his Eagle Scout Leadership Service Project.  He proposed to change the Saffell Street School courtyard into a life science and outdoor classroom.  The work would entail fixing the current pond and fountain, building a student outdoor work area, creating raised flower and vegetable beds, and just general cleanup of the area.  The project will be funded by monetary and supplies donations from the community and area businesses.  The labor will be from community volunteers and members of Troop 37.

There were also a number of other recognitions.  From Anderson Middle School, Robin Basham was recognized as achieving the National Board Teaching Certification.  Robert B Turner Elementary School was also recognized in being selected to present at the 24th Annual Model Schools conference in June.  Teacher leaders, Mary Ann Adams, McKenzie Austin, Shannon Wells, and Sara Wallace worked very hard in putting together the video used to enter the school for the presentation.  And finally, Judge Executive Orbrey Gritton presented a combined proclamation from both himself and Mayor Goodlett to the board for school board recognition month.

The board then moved to discuss various topics.  Among the various topics, the board approved policy 08.113 for graduation requirements, new trip requests from the different schools and organizations, and selected Chenoweth Law Office as board council.  The superintendent evaluation was also reviewed and the superintendent contract extended by a year.  The board then discussed other topics before adjourning.

Below are the list of students recognized at the meeting.  Current ACMS 6th Grade Students who scored distinguished in all 4 areas assessed on 5th Grade Spring KPREP:

Haylie Cleaver
Emma Collins
Zoe Graham
Brooklyn Hill
Samantha Landis
Annalisa Luna
Julia McNulty
Joshua O’Banion
Laura Quire
Paige Serafini

Current ACMS 7th Grade Students who scored distinguished in all 4 areas assessed on 6th Grade Spring KPREP:

Jacob Alteri
Lauren Ballard
Justin Hunter
Jonathan Olmsted
Mason Pierce
Madyson Ripy
Anna Williams
Ariel Woo
Current ACMS 8th Grade students who scored distinguished in both areas assess on 7th Grade Spring KPREP – those areas were reading and math:

John Bush
Matthew Quire
Riley Dodd
Michael-Andrew Smith
Autumn Farler
Ethan Webb
Fiona Gabhart
Madalyn Welch
Gabriel Gettelfinger
Hannah Whitaker
Tanner Gillis
Sidney Hall
Caroline Hughes
Zachary Labhart
Sofia Luna
Mikenzi Mullins


Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on TumblrPin on PinterestEmail this to someone
Posted in School & Education.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.