School Board Recognizes EBW Spelling Bee Winners and More

Superintendent Sheila Mitchell Congratualting Spelling Bee WinnersSpelling Bee Winners Present for the MeetingMusic Teacher Emily DavisCommunity Education Director Jacque ZellerNew Board leaders for 2016 are Lee Hahn as Board Chair & Donna Crain Drury as Vice Board Chair. Photo taken by Hailey Bowman, a member of ACHS yearbook staff.

On Monday, the Anderson County School Board held their monthly meeting.  It started with Superintendent Sheila Mitchell and Principal Murphy recognizing the winners of the Emma B Ward Elementary spelling bee (full list of names below).

They also recognized all the students and teachers that helped with the school’s Veteran’s Day Program that was held last month.  A special thank you went out to ACHS student Noah Medley for performing TAPS during the event, Travis Huber for recruiting the Cub Scouts to help, Major Parsons and Sergeant Major Kinsella for bringing the Franklin County AF JROTC, and music teacher Emily Davis for her outstanding work on the program.  Jacque Zeller, community education director, also recognized all the help that went into renovating the Anderson Community Education Center.

The board then moved into regular session.  The Bearcat Pride Foundation, which is the organization looking to renovate the ACHS football field, reported that they have raised $25,000 over the past few months through fundraisers and donations.  They will be hiring professionals to create full plans for the new field to help potential donors understand the completed project.

A number of other topics were discussed.  Heather Cochran from Ray, Foley, Hensley and Company PLLC presented the board with the 2014-2015 audit, which came back clean.  Instructional Supervisor Sharon Jackman presented the Comprehensive District Improvement Plan, and Director of District Wide Programs and Operations Ronne Fields provided the board with the second safety update of the year.  Also, Energy Manager Gary Stinnett provided an update of the energy savings for the district which so far has saved $1,579,229 since 2008

The meeting continued with a number of important topics.  The board approved buying three new buses and 200 Chrome books for elementary school students.  They also elected new board officers which are Lee Hahn as board chair and Donna Crain Drury as vice chair.  And they set the same meeting times for the school board for next year as this year, which is the second Monday of the month at 7pm.  The board approved a number of other requests before adjourning.

Spelling Bee Winners:
1st Grade:  Braxon Windener, Carliegh Boyd and Jaycie Wilcox who placed 3rd in the district bee.
2nd Grade:  Cooper Welch, Keiran Dulaney, and Eli Gover who placed 3rd in the district bee.
3rd Grade:  Jacob Bucher, Isaac Brown who placed 3rd at the district bee and Meredith Dickison who won the 3rd grade district spelling bee.
4th Grade:  Campbell Beasley, Julianna Godby and Brady White who placed 4th in the district bee.
5th Grade:  Mattie Osborne, Jada Morris, Sophie Grigsby who won the 5th grade district bee and place 3rd at the county spelling bee.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on TumblrPin on PinterestEmail this to someone
Posted in School & Education.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.